The 4c's Of Diamond


Cuts are mainly the arrangement of facets in the stone, affecting the cost and beauty of a diamond. To what extend a diamond will reflect light from within depends on the skill and craft of the diamond cutter. When a diamond is cut with precision, light gets reflected from one facet to another and results in a burst of brilliance.

Ideal Cut

An ideal cut diamond has maximum brilliance that is achieved through exact calculation of the proportion and symmetry of the stone. Brilliance reflecting out of the perfectly cut diamond makes it alluring.

Brilliant Cut

Brilliant cut diamonds have 58 facets, 33 on top and 24 at the bottom and the culet. In this cut, all 58 facets appear to radiate from the center through the top of the diamond. This is the most common diamond cut.

Step Cut

Step cut resembles stairs or steps, with its three concentric rows of facets arranged around the table, culet and pavilion. The emerald cut is a good example of a step cut diamond.

Mixed Cut

Mixed cut diamonds combine the step cut and the brilliant cut. For instance, the crown of the diamond can be cut as a brilliant cut and the pavilion as the step cut.


Diamonds receive the FL (flawless) grade when there is no discernible inclusion or blemish that causes interference with the passage of light through the stone, we offer diamonds that achieve a grade of VS2 and above. VVS and VS graded diamonds are expensive whereas SI1 and SI2 graded diamonds are more affordable.


Flawless and internally flawless


Very minute inclusions that are hard to view under 10x magnification.


Slight inclusions that are visible under 10x magnification and may not be visible to the naked eye.


Slightly more prominent inclusions that are visible under 10x magnification and may not be visible to the naked eye.


More light passes through diamonds that display little color, creating a prism-like effect. If a stone is totally transparent, it is considered rare; however, notable exceptions are fancy colored diamonds such as yellow, green, blue and pink. Grades are allocated to a diamond according to the level of color it possesses.

Based on the color scale established by the GIA (Gemological Institute of America), a letter is assigned to the degree of colorlessness found in diamonds. Starting from D and ending with Z, each letter in descending order denotes an increasing amount of light (yellow, brown or grey) in the diamond.


D is the highest color grade attributed to a diamond, denoting that the stone is completely colorless (white).


A gemologist can identify traces of colors found in the diamond even though the stone looks colorless.


These diamonds look almost colorless because the untrained eye cannot notice the hint of color present in the stone.


These stones have faint traces of color.


Carat determines the weight of a diamond with 1 carat being equivalent to 200 milligrams or 0.2 grams. One carat is also divided into 100 points. These points are used for describing increments of weight within a carat. A diamond's price per carat increases in proportion with the size of the stone. Two diamonds of the same weight can have different values based on their color, cut and clarity.

© 2020. All rights reserved | Design by K R EXPORT IMPORT PVT. LTD